CWC recommends new Telangana State.

by - 8:27 AM

NEW DELHI, July 30 – Brushing aside
opposition after dithering for nearly four
years, the Congress and the UPA coalition
today unanimously endorsed creation of a
separate Telangana State from out of Andhra
Pradesh, reports PTI.
“It is resolved to request the Central
government to make steps in accordance with
the Constitution to form a separate State of
Telangana ... within a definite timeframe,”
said a resolution of the Congress Working
Committee, the highest policy-making body of
the party, after over an hour-long meeting.
The Congress also decided to recommend to
the government that Hyderabad be made the
joint capital of the newly-proposed State and
the other regions – Rayalaseema and Coastal
Andhra – for a period of 10 years.
The momentous decisions by the CWC and the
UPA came after hectic consultations for the
last over a week on creation of the 29th State
of the country that will have a geographical
area of 10 of the 23 districts of undivided
Andhra Pradesh.
Today's decision also brings to fruition the
announcement made by the then Home
Minister P Chidambaram on December 9, 2009
for creation of Telangana.
Contrary to speculation that the new State
could be named Rayala Telangana, including a
couple of districts of Rayalaseema, the
districts that will be part of the new State will
be Adilabad, Karimnagar, Khammam,
Mahaboobnagar, Medak, Nalgonda,
Nizamabad, Rangareddy and Warangal besides
At the moment, the idea is to have 10 districts
in Telangana but it will be for the Group of
Ministers to consider demands for inclusion of
more areas, AICC general secretary Digvijay
Singh, incharge of Andhra Pradesh affairs in
Congress, told a press conference after the
CWC meeting.
Out of 42 Lok Sabha seats and 294 Assembly
seats in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana is likely to
have 17 Lok Sabha seats and 119 Assembly
At the CWC meeting, the Prime Minister
Manmohan Singh said the decision to create a
separate Telangana would help the entire
Andhra region.
Like last week end, when indications emerged
that the Congress was veering towards
formation of Telangana, ministers and MPs
belonging to the non-Telangana regions made
last ditch efforts to convince Gandhi and Prime
Minister Manmohan Singh to have a rethink on
the issue.
Andhra State, the first entity formed on
linguistic basis, was created in 1953 from out
of the erstwhile Madras Presidency with
Kurnool as the capital. With the passing of the
States Reorganisation Act, 1956, there was a
merger of Hyderabad State and Andhra State
to be called Andhra Pradesh from November 1,
1956. Andhra Pradesh now has a population of
over 8.5 crore.
The 2009 announcement, taken at the height
of an indefinite fast by TRS leader K
Chandrashekhar Rao, had ignited street
protests in the non-Telangana regions and
opposition from ministers, MLAs and leaders
from within the party that forced the Central
government and the Congress leadreship to
put the issue on hold.
The Centre held rounds of meetings with all
parties from the State and set up a
Commission under the chairmanship for
Supreme Court Judge Justice Srikrishna, which
had given a report suggesting various
Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy, who was
opposed to the division of Andhra Pradesh and
was said to be thinking in terms of resigning,
was called for consultations. He attended the
UPA meeting.
However, he dismissed reports of resignation
as "rumours". Similarly, Congress ministers in
the Union government and the MPs gave
enough indications that they would follow the
party line.

You May Also Like